Growing up, becoming a sports writer is always what I wanted to do for a living. However, the less than ideal hours, the minimal pay most receive, and the lack of quality sports writing positions led me away from that path. I routinely read the message boards that discuss all things Iowa Hawkeyes related, but I never leave posts of my own as feel that many of the posts end-up sounding ignorant. So here I go; I'm writing this post for several reasons: 1) to get the feelings that I have from last night's tough loss to Arizona out of my head and off of my chest so I can go forward with my Sunday, and 2) because I've always wanted to write about this stuff for a living. If this isn't going to interest you, don't read it. I'm writing this post more so for me; sorry for being selfish.
Let me preface this with the following information. I am a huge Iowa Hawkeyes fan; I always have been, and I always will be. I have seen maybe two great Iowa football teams in my lifetime, several very good Iowa football teams, a lot of above average Iowa football teams, and yes, unfortunately, even some bad Iowa football teams. For the most part, I would say, that we would fall into the category of being above average; recently, we have been lucky enough for Kirk Ferentz to begin to lead us into the category of, almost, consistently being in the very good category. Where Kirk Ferentz has taken this program is great! It is great for recruiting better players, it is great for gaining exposure throughout the entire country, and it is great as a fan to see your team competing to win every single Saturday. However, when you are consistently good and expecting to win, losing hurts a little bit more.
Unlike some of the message boards and preseason prognosticators, I never envisioned this Iowa Hawkeye football team to contend for a national championship this year. To me, this idea was always too far fetched due to, mainly, three reasons. One, we won too many games last year that could have very easily been losses. Two, even though our schedule this season is favorable, there are too many good games that we would have to sweep. And three, we are Iowa; we've won one national championship ever (and even that, in 1958, was not an outright national championship), we tend to thrive without the spotlight shining on us, we are a state that does not have a huge population and that gives us a disadvantage when it comes to recruiting, and unfortunately my favorite teams just don't usually win it all!
All of that being said, when I looked at our schedule at the beginning of the year I didn't see any match-ups that I thought we would lose. Head-to-head, week-by-week I thought that we would win every game. At the same time I never thought that we would go 12-0. I figured we would lose at least two, maybe even three, possibly even four games; I just didn't know which games we would lose. I know now that Arizona is one loss. I think that we will finish the season at 10-2; still not sure who I think the other loss will be. Hopefully, if you are still reading, this paragraph hasn't confused you.
Now for some reaction to last night's (Arizona) game. First of all, it started horribly. ESPN could not find one of their million different channels to put the game on at the very beginning. It was very difficult to only see: a blocked punt, a touchdown, and a pick six without seeing all of the little things in between. Once ESPN finally did tune in, it was already 14-0 Arizona. Secondly, I know that there were a lot of Iowa fans there; however, that crowd, in the red with the white pom-poms was unbelievably intimidating (and it did not help that we let them go up 14-0 right off of the bat!). And third, I don’t want to hear about how hot it was.
We got outplayed. The better team, us, did not win; that sometimes, unfortunately, happens in sports. If we play this game 10 times, in Arizona even, we win over half of the time (I think). You must give credit to Arizona though, they came ready to play. We made too many mistakes: blocked punt, tipped ball that goes for a pick six, kickoff return for a touchdown, blocked PAT, and the three or four sacks in a row that we surrendered to end the game highlight a few of them. Even with all of those things going wrong (Murphy's Law - everything that can go wrong, will go wrong), we still tied the game at 27 in the fourth quarter. That speaks volumes to the resiliency that this team possesses. They never quit, and you have to congratulate them for that.
Two other notes. Prior to the last drive, I thought that our pass protection was pretty good. I even mentioned at one point in time, I thought that it was one of the highlights of our performance; how quickly that changed. Adrian Clayborn is my favorite Hawkeye. Adrian Clayborn is the best player we have on our team. However, Adrian Clayborn needs to be more consistently dominant with his performance/production. I thought that last night would be his breakout game for this season, I was wrong. I'm sure he will still have a great season, but I was a little disappointed with the lack of disruption that he caused last night.
We are 2-1, but more importantly we are still 0-0 in Big Ten conference play. My goal going into the season was to get to another BCS bowl game, and more specifically the Rose Bowl game. That is still my goal; nothing about last night's performance has altered that goal. The fact that I see fans talking about benching Ricky Stanzi, firing Kirk Ferentz and his staff, finishing the season 7-5 is ridiculous! Look at the body of work of Ricky Stanzi; what is he, 20-5 as career starter? That is 20 wins compared to five losses, I'll take that record any day. Look at the body of work of Kirk Ferentz; he should be given a life-time contract to stay at Iowa for as long as he pleases to do so. NEVER has our football program been consistently as prominent as it has been the past ten years. 7-5? Come on. I guarantee you that these are the exact same fans that were talking 12-0, national championship prior to the game. Relax, it is one game. Have faith that our players will rebound; they did in the second half. Have faith that our coaching staff will make adjustments and coach these guys up; they've done it in the past. As Kirk says, weather the storm - play through the highs and the lows. That goes for fans, too; there will be more lows this season, but there will be highs also. Try not to get too high, and try not to fall too low. As is his rule for the team - you've got 24 hours to either celebrate a victory or dwell on loss before you must flush it and move on.
I think this just officially flushed the loss for me; as I feel better already. Thanks for listening.
Is it Saturday yet?!